Information for Renters
If You are Facing Eviction or Need Advice on Your Rights as a Tenant
- Read "Is Your Landlord in Foreclosure? Important Information for Tenants" which contains frequently asked questions.
- Go to www.ohiolegalservices.org/programs or call 1-866-LAW-OHIO (1.866.529.6446) to get more information or legal assistance.
- Read the Protecting Tenants in Foreclosure Act of 2009. Under this new law enacted May 21, 2009:
- You have the right to receive notification 90 days before you can be evicted from a property in foreclosure.
- If you have a lease, you may occupy the property until the end of your lease unless the foreclosed property is sold to a new owner who plans to use the property as their residence. If this happens, you can stay at the property until 90 days after you receive notification.
If You are Looking for Affordable Housing Options
- Visit OhioHousingLocator.org to search for affordable apartments and homes for rent.
- Learn about the Ohio Housing Finance Agency's homeownership programs.